The Best of 2014! [cont.]


Hello everybody! The New Year is here and all of us have been thinking about the year that has just passed. Many good things have happened, so we decided to make a few Top 10 Lists. Last week, I wrote about the 10 movies that I thought were the best. This week, I’m going to write about 10 songs that I thought were the best. Please keep reading!


TOP 10 SONGS

Stay With Me – Sam Smith

Stay With Me is the third track on Sam Smith’s first album, In the Lonely Hour. I really like this song because it’s sort of pop ballad-y. The overall feel is sad like a ballad, but the loud beat makes lifts the mood a bit.

Chandelier – Sia

Chandelier is the lead single from Sia’s sixth album, 1000 Forms of Fear. In the music video, this little girl dances through what seems like an abandoned house throughout the whole video. I really like this song because of Sia’s powerful vocals and the overall feel of her song. After listening to it, I kinda want to swing from a chandelier.

Problem – Ariana Grande ft. Iggy Azalea

Problem is the second track on Ariana Grande’s second album, My Everything. I really like this song because it has this retro feel to it. It’s sort of a mix of funk and jazz. The saxophone at the beginning is super cool and the song is really catchy.

Shake It Off – Taylor Swift

Shake It Off is the sixth track on Taylor Swift’s fifth album, 1989. I have to admit that this song is extremely catchy and when it comes on on the radio, I can’t stop myself from singing along. I love the beat and the lyrics and the music video and everything about it.

Jealous – Nick Jonas

Jealous is the second track on Nick Jonas’ self titled album. The lyrics of this song are really good and Nick Jonas’ vocal range is amazing.

Thinking Out Loud – Ed Sheeran

Thinking Out Loud is the eleventh track on Ed Sheeran’s second album, X. I think I really like this song just because he’s Ed Sheeran. I’m just kidding. This song is about loving each other until the very end, which I ABSOLUTELY adore.

Steal My Girl – One Direction

Steal My Girl is the lead single from One Direction’s fourth album, Four. This song is super catchy and I love the lyrics. The music video is a little strange, but it’s still enjoyable.

Love Me Harder – Ariana Grande ft. The Weeknd

Love Me Harder is the ninth track from Ariana Grande’s second album, My Everything. I like this song because it shows a more mature side of Ariana Grande. The song’s medium tempo is really nice and edgy.

Blank Space – Taylor Swift

Blank Space is the second track on Taylor Swift’s fifth album, 1989. I think Taylor’s vocals really stand out in this song for some reason. Her range is incredible, and the lyrics are bold; making fun of what people say about her dating style.

Uptown Funk – Mark Ronson ft. Bruno Mars

Uptown Funk is the fourth track on Mark Ronson’s fourth album, Uptown Special. This song is EXTREMELY catchy and easy to sing. The background beat and classis funk style are pleasant and enjoyable.


There were tons of other good songs in 2014, these are only my personal top 10. I’m looking forward to all the new songs coming out in 2015, and I hope they don’t disappoint.

Tune in next time and read about other top 10’s and more cool places in OC!

~Cynthia

Leave a Reply

